The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the seminary. It sets policy and establishes goals for the development of the seminary program in keeping with the Church’s documents on priestly formation. The Board also supervises the finances of the Josephinum and establishes a policy that will provide for the seminary’s financial well-being. It is made up of 20–25 members, including bishops, priests, religious, and laity, and holds three annual meetings to assess the seminary’s programs and to plan for the future.


Most Reverend Christophe Pierre

Apostolic Nuncio to the United States of America



Most Reverend Frederick F. Campbell

Bishop of Columbus, Ohio



Most Reverend David R. Choby

Bishop of Nashville, Tennessee

Chair of the Board


Most Reverend Terry R. LaValley

Bishop of Ogdensburg, New York

Vice Chair of the Board


Mrs. Loyann W. Brush

College of Liberal Arts

Pontifical College Josephinum


Mr. William R. Burleigh

Retired President and CEO

The E.W. Scripps Company

Cincinnati, Ohio


Mr. John O. Erwin

Vice President for Administration and Treasurer

Pontifical College Josephinum


Most Reverend Ronald W. Gainer

Bishop of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania


Sister Mary Sarah Galbraith, OP


Aquinas College

Nashville, Tennessee


Reverend Christopher Gober

Director of Vocations

Diocese of Charlotte


Most Reverend Ronald P. Herzog

Bishop of Alexandria, Louisiana


Reverend Larry D. Hostetter


Brescia University

Owensboro, Kentucky


Mr. Rick Jeric

Executive Director

Office of Development and Planning

Diocese of Columbus


Mr. David Karam

Chief Executive Officer

Sbarro, LLC


Ms. Donna M. Killoughey

Major Gift Development

Society of Saint Vincent de Paul

Phoenix, Arizona


Reverend Monsignor Kevin T. McMahon

School of Theology

Pontifical College Josephinum


Reverend Jeffrey Rimelspach


St. Margaret of Cortona Church



Reverend Monsignor Christopher J. Schreck


Pontifical College Josephinum


Mr. Robert M. Schulte


Spherion of Lima, Inc, Ohio


Most Reverend James A. Tamayo

Bishop of Laredo, Texas 


Most Reverend James S. Wall

Bishop of Gallup, New Mexico